Long weekend getaway in Bergen

At the beginning of April my friend Isabella and me fly to Bergen, Norway. The main reason for our trip was an interview for a master program at the NHH, but we decided to make the most of our time in Scandinavia and stayed for a couple of days.

I was flying out of Munich on Wednesday after work. On the way I finished the “Stown” Podcast while indulging on a grande latte. A couple of hours, a beautiful sunset and a layover in Copenhagen later I arrived in Bergen. I headed into the city and arrived at 11pm at our Airbnb. Isabella had arrived in the afternoon already and was so kind to go grocery shopping to cover us for the weekend. We chatted well past midnight – lots to chat up on –  and then went to bed since we had our interviews the next day.

IMG_5755

On Thursday we woke up to rain, rain and more rain. So after enjoying our breakfast/ brunch in our cozy living room, we took the bus to NHH. It was such a nice experience: welcoming students, friendly faculty members, gorgeous view from the buildings onto the seaside, good coffee, etc. We also met Victoria, another girl from Germany. After finishing the entire interview process at around 5pm we drove back to the city center and had an early dinner together.

IMG_5821

IMG_5771

IMG_5768

IMG_1439

On Friday the sun finally came out and after having the most amazing breakfast goodies, Isabella and me started the hike up to Fløyen. After only 45 minutes we arrived at the viewpoint. I have to admit, I was most impressed by the kindergarten on top. Kids would be outside most of the day and play in the woods. Also, I loved the diversity among the pedagogues: two guys with long beards (Norwegian cliché totally true) and a muslim woman. Isabella and me then started a 3km tour on the top of the mountain to Fjellhytten.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

IMG_5793

IMG_1547

IMG_5780

IMG_5794

IMG_5792

IMG_5789

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Also, I love how much trolls, witches and other mythical creatures from part of the Norwegian culture. I still remember a book my grandma brought back from a trip to Norway when my brother and me were still little. Now I had the chance to meet them in “real life”.

IMG_5815

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

IMG_5823

IMG_5772

IMG_5767

IMG_5803

Saturday was spent in the city center. We started our day with a stroll to a nice bakery and had some coffee there. Then we walked around and looked into some stores. In the afternoon we enjoyed some cinnamon buns and yet some more coffee. For dinner we headed over to the fish market and bought some salmon and fish soup. We carried everything home and prepared a nice Norwegian dinner. Also, we got some  classic Scandinavian candy that we later enjoyed while relaxing in front of Netflix.

IMG_1599

IMG_1598

On Sunday we had to get up rather early to catch our planes. We had breakfast at the airport and then said our good-byes since Isabella flew to Düsseldorf and I back to Munich. As always when I am at CPH airport, I had the most amazing rye bread roll with “smør og ost” from Lagkagehuset. We had such a lovely time in Norway – I will definitely come back one day to explore more of this beautiful country!

Leave a Reply

