Words of Wisdom

Tuesday afternoon – in front of me tons of accounting and controlling books and papers pile up. A half-full cup of coffee besides me. I need a break from all these numbers. Seems like a pretty good idea to start with one point of my summer bucket list right now since I need YOUR INPUT first!

Those of you who know me personally, know that I love quotes. They often capture so perfectly what I could not put in words or remind me of the beautiful things in life. Sometimes they even serve me as motivation. When I lived in Chicago my host-kids created a “Quote”-book. They asked relatives, family, friends and did some research themselves and then put everything neatly together in an book. What I loved most about this little project was the fact that input from beloved ones was highly valued. I wish I have something similar sitting on my bookshelf. Well, not yet, but I start this project now.

So here is the deal: I would like to invite you to leave a comment below with your favourite quote, or wise wise words from your grandma, or your own piece of advice, or the recipe for a happy life, or anything else that you think should be included in my album. It does not matter where you have it from, or what language it is in. I will value all of your inputs.

Thank you all in advance & I cannot wait to read all your comments!

picture via

9 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom

  1. Ellinor says:

    “Jag är min egen lyckas smed” – Would be translated to something like: “be the architect of one’s own fortune”

    Dont cry because it’s over, smile because it happend

    Like

  2. Oskar Wennerbeck says:

    Pay attention, get excited, never quit.

    The world is a book and those who do not travel only read one page.

    Love is something eternal; the aspect may change, but not the essence

    Travelling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

    Like

  3. Axel says:

    Fordere viel von dir selbst und erwarte wenig von anderen. So bleibt dir so mancher Ärger erspart.
    – Konfuzius
    (… und die Freude ist umso größer, wenn sich deine Anstrengungen auszahlen).

    Like

  4. lh says:

    “Die entscheidende Frage ist vielleicht nicht die nach dem Sinn des Lebens, sondern nach dem Sinn innerhalb des Lebens. Wenn ich – in mir – Stimmigkeit zwischen meiner linken & rechten Gehirnhälfte, zwischen Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein herstellen kann, werden die verschiedenen Teile meiner Persönlichkeit reibungslos zusammenarbeiten. Und wenn ich dann – außerhalb von mir – eine Situation schaffe, in der ich meinem Partner nahe bin, meine Arbeit als Berufung sehen kann, und eine echte Verbindung zu anderen habe, sollte ich ein zufriedenes Leben haben.” (aus: The Happy Show, Stefan Sagmeister)

    Like

Leave a Reply

