Breakfast Bowls

IMG_3868I guess it is no surprise that I constantly come up with new breakfast ideas since it is my favourite meal of the day. So it happens that I discovered Acai Bowls at my best friend’s place in June. I’ve never heard about them before but let me tell you, they are delicious!!

I tried to find Acai berries in Austria but couldn’t get hold of them. I’m sure they are available somewhere on the Internet, but I decided to just try the recipes with other kind of berries.

Ingredients:

  • 500g (frozen) raspberries
  • a good handful of fresh strawberries
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • honey/ agave sirup for sweetening
  • 125ml coconut milk

Start with heating the coconut oil. When melted put in the berries and let it all simmer until the berries have lost its original consistency. Then add the bananas, which should be cut into small pieces. Blend everything so that there are no chunky bits left. Add the coconut milk and let the puree simmer for some minutes. Add honey or any other kind of sweetener for taste.

You can serve this basis-puree with all kind of things: fresh fruits, coconut flakes, nuts, granola, any kind of seeds, etc. Be creative!!

IMG_1830

{when we had the Breakfast Bowls we had some fruit leftovers and then created a really delicious afternoon snack}

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Bowls

Leave a Reply

