Happiness

Present As the last couple of weeks passed and I was focusing on studying for midterm exams I tried to built in some inspirational breaks in-between all the revising and problem solving. I read several chapters of one of my favorite books “The Happiness Projects” by Gretchen Rubin again. I first read it during last years summer months and even though we all carry the wisdom of this book somehow within us we do not quite live our life by the rules of simplicity. Today’s society is very competitive and it is an on-going never ending battle with oneself and the people around us just to keep up our position and a status quo. The general question that Mrs. Rubin asks herself and therefore also the reader is: Is this really it?
She, me and lost of other people are blessed with a wonderful life: we have enough to eat and drink, a place to call home, family and friends, maybe even a husband and children, a job, etc. We do have many reasons to be happy but still often we just cannot see how truly blessed we are. Unfortunately lots of us focus on the things that might need improvement, the things that seem to be imperfect, the negativity in our lives. We no longer live in the moment but rather in the past or in the future. Sure looking back and looking forward is important – reflecting past situations and finding out in which direction our lives are supposed to head. But nevertheless we got to live in the present, and appreciate what we have today.
That is the same with our hopes and dreams – when if not now? Mark Twain once said “In twenty years you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by what you did.” Personally I hope that I can look back on my life and have no regrets. I want to say “I did” rather than “oh, what if…”.
“The words of the writer Colette had haunted my for years: “What a wonderful life I’ve had! I wish I’d realized it sooner.” I didn’t want to look back, at the end of my life or after some great catastrophe, and think, “How happy I used to be then, if only I’d realized it.” – Gretchen Rubin “The Happiness Project”
Foto 13.05.14 17 51 52 
1st image via

Leave a Reply

